God Gives Us More Than We Can Handle

Hold it. God gives us more than we can handle? Doesn’t it say in 1 Corinthians 10:13 that

He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. -1 Corinthians 10:13

This morning, the pastor at the church I attended made a good point of this well known verse. A lot of times when I read this verse, it encourages me. Anything that comes my way is never too much because God won’t give me anything I can’t handle. Seems pretty self explanatory? Maybe not.

The truth is that God does give us more than we can handle. Just look at the times you were in over your head. The list goes on for how many times I couldn’t handle something. The cool thing is that God carries us through these times. He gives us more than we can handle, so that we may rely on Him and Him alone. It isn’t God giving us just the right amount before we crack, but giving us just that little bit more so there’s nothing else we can do but go to Him. It is through Him that we are able to overcome. It is in Him that we must trust.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light. -Matthew 11:28-30

One thought on “God Gives Us More Than We Can Handle

  1. hey kelly, thanks for the post. its definitely a blessing to be able to seek God in our toughest times, and that he will guide us back to Him.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

