Remembered

I am sending you out like sheep among wolves. -Matthew 10:16

Why?

I kept my eyes on the goal. The book of Philippians tells us to rejoice in our suffering, and in my faith, I told myself that God called us to live this out, to expect this pain.

I asked myself again, why? As I jogged up and down a dirt trail in the cool of the dusk, suffering in my side for a lack of endurance, I asked, why? Why is it that the followers of Christ are expected to receive trials, when our Savior paid the price? I mean, I seek to live all out and serve and suffer for Him, but why? I tried to reason it out through my Bible knowledge as I ran aimlessly in the night. Does God test us because we aren’t worthy? Is He allowing the world to take advantage of His own followers? Why do we suffer when we have the “good news”?

I reflected on this as I was reminded of God’s Glory through His creation, trying to think about the faith that so many of us keep. I know that our lives are to be examples of our Lord, yet I had this sudden bewilderment and didn’t know how to further digest this aspect of our faith.

I am reminded through a new song, “Remember Me” by Kutless that speaks to me in a way that I can’t really explain. Through the words and music, I see how our call to persevere in Christ’s name is indeed what keeps us together with our God. We are to be set apart from this world, leaving behind the evil ways of the world, and take on the burdens in order to display the truth of Jesus Christ.

I looked in Your eyes
And saw it for a moment
The passion in Your cry
The chains of life are broken
Put to death by Your people
You came to bring us life
Only hope for the hopeless
Will You remember me?

I’ve been ashamed
I’ve been put down
Head in my hands
My life on the ground
Left heaven to save
Liars and thieves
Sinners like me
Your blood sets us free

Who am I
That You would remember me?

Spent all of my years
Stealing from the world
With everything i had
I was still so poor
You have everything to lose
But You’re dying here with me
I believe
Will You remember me?

Take what I have left my Savior
Take me with You from this cross
When I leave this life completely
Remember me

I took a step back and looked at my heart, where I stood at the moment, and I knew that  it was pride. But rather instead, that I should humble myself, to offer my heart and every single aspect of my life to God, and to follow Him regardless of pain or death.

He died on the cross when we were still lost in the evils of the world, regardless of our actions or not. But we are saved through His Grace, and we must put aside our pride and follow our Savior. He died for us, and because of that we let His will be done, and allow ourselves to be ashamed, and put down. To suffer for Him for us is to be closer to our Savior, and through that, we can see God directly working in all things through faith.

Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of live that God has promised to those who love Him. -James 1:12

At the end of our lives, when we leave this life completely, He will remember us.

Leave a Reply

