God Provides

On Saturday my laptop screen broke. On my laptop were my project due on Monday and all my college essays. UC applications were due in a week.

I freaked. Somehow I got my laptop hooked to a monitor. I transferred the UC essays and homework I needed. I tried to get the rest of my files, but the monitor stopped working.

A couple days later I realized I needed another college essay. I tried hooking up my laptop to my monitor again. At first, it didn’t work, but after a few tries, I finally uploaded the essay I needed online.

God gave me exactly what I needed.

I had been inconsistently praying for God to help me trust Him with school and college. Every once in a while I would remember to pray about trusting Him to choose whatever college I go to.

Even though these were half-hearted prayers, God answered them.

My immediate reaction to my laptop breaking was to worry about finishing assignments and essays. It was so easy for me, when things didn’t go as planned, to worry and forget that God is still in control.

I want to control everything about school and colleges, thinking that I know exactly what is right for me. For some reason, I’m afraid to trust God because then I won’t be in control. I forget that I can trust in an omnipotent God who created this universe and has my entire life planned out.

28“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?…33But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Matthew 6:28-34

5 thoughts on “God Provides

  1. I was going to make a clever comment about the lilies of the field, but Brian beat me to it. :)

    Unless the LORD builds the house,
    its builders labor in vain.
    Unless the LORD watches over the city,
    the watchmen stand guard in vain.
    – Psalm 127:1

  2. Haha the control freak in all of us wants to know each step, but thank God that he uses these moments to humble and remind us of His will. It is in that process of humbling that we grow much… Praise God for that.

Leave a Reply

