My Christmas

It’s not Christmas yet, but this has already been one of the greatest holiday seasons I’ve had.

But to most of my friends, I’m having the worst Christmas. I’m spending these next couple days home alone, with nothing to eat but applesauce, pudding, and yogurt. I spend each hour either trying to write college essays or watching TV.

But when all the things the world associates with Christmas is stripped away, I’m reminded more of Christ.

I spent a couple of days feeling sorry for myself and not looking forward to Christmas, but God woke me up and asked me, “How could you not be satisfied when I’ve given you the greatest gift I could. I gave you my son!”

Isn’t that all we need to rejoice during Christmas and everyday of our lives? That story of Jesus being born in a manger is told and retold so many times, but the miracle of God coming down to be with us never gets old.

13Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying,
14“Glory to God in the highest,
and on earth peace to men on whom his favor rests.”

Luke 2:13-14

It is the holidays. Take this time to stop, and mediate on God’s amazing gift.

The Creator of the universe has made us the humble recipients of the world’s greatest gift. May we never cease to praise Him.

One thought on “My Christmas

Leave a Reply

