Family

Recently, I made a resolution to actively and intentionally be a Godly light/witness to my family.

It is no easy feat. Many times I lose patience, lose hope, even lose the will to be a light at all. And all this just makes me feel like an utter failure. No matter how hard I try, I can do nothing.

Which is exactly the point to this post. One of the underlying themes God has revealed to me in my study of the Word and daily walk with Him is that ALL WORKS ARE DONE BY GOD. And this of course applies to my family’s salvation. God’s living Word says:

“In love he predestined us for adoption through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of his will, to the praise of his glorious grace, with which he has blessed us in the Beloved.” [Ephesians 1:4-6]

What does this tell us about how sinners are adopted into the mighty spiritual family of God? (These are based off of my small group notes on adoption)

1) Adoption is from God:

– Eph. 1:5 – In love HE predestined us!

2) Adoption is a fully Trinitarian work:

– i.e. It involves the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. This is the love of God revealed through HIS initiative of sending forth His son for us! (Eph. 1:5 — according to the purpose of HIS WILL)

3) Adoption is through Jesus Christ:

– Jesus came to redeem those who were under the law. Back in the day, the law was made to show how short we fall from the glory of God, since no one could have followed these laws perfectly. And since we could not save ourselves, Jesus suffered our payment in full.

4) Adoption is confirmed by the Holy Spirit

– After adopting us into His Kingdom, God then sends us the Holy Spirit into our hearts so that we can experience a close, familial relationship with God the Father!

Conclusion: God did everything.

With my family, most of the time I feel completely inadequate (which we are — Romans 3:23). Then one night my dad comes into the kitchen and takes the giant pot of porridge from the stove. His face is all lit up and giddy. I ask him,”Dad why are you taking the xi fan away…” He explains that it’s his turn to bring food for the Monday night Ping Pong/Bible Study Fellowship! Heeheehee!

This event may not seem like a big deal, but just seeing how excited he was to fellowship (and study the Bible!) with Christians was an amazing miracle to witness. And the critical realization is that I didn’t do anything to spur this on. It was ALL God, to the praise of His glorious grace.

God is so good, and whether He saves my family or not, He is still good. I am already so thankful to be part of His heavenly family, and I anxiously await those who will be joining it in 2010. Happy New Year! :D

One thought on “Family

Leave a Reply

