Break My Heart

“Heal my heart and make it clean
Open up my eyes to the things unseen
Show me how to love like You have loved me

Break my heart for what breaks Yours
Everything I am for Your kingdom’s cause
As I walk from earth into eternity”

Most of you reading probably know these lyrics are from Hillsong’s Hosanna. If you’re not familiar with it, check it out:

I just wanted to point out what we sing when we sing this popular song. Do we actually even know what we’re singing? Or are we letting the cool buildup to the bridge overcome us realizing what these words mean? Do we realize the depth of of what we are asking here? Because I sure didn’t.

I know it’s cliche when people say “let it not just be lip service”.  But let us not leave it as a cliche statment and  remind ourselves that we are singing to our God here.

I just want to emphasize one of the lines, “Break my heart for what breaks Yours”. All of a sudden, it just hit me what a huge request this is that we are making to God. But I hope that this can be all of our request and prayer to God. That the things that break our God’s heart, would also break ours. The things that God is disappointed in, we would also be disappointed and not satisfied in. That my heart would be aligned with God’s.

One thought on “Break My Heart

  1. Amen, sister. In reflection of our conversation about these words and what we are singing… what has God shown you that is breaking His heart?

Leave a Reply

