Humility

I find that many times I turn things into a competition. I find it more fun when I’m competing against someone. I will turn the most trivial things like who can eat faster into a race. It doesn’t even occur to me sometimes until a friend will stop and ask, “why must you make everything into a competition”. But its true, I do a lot, I find that I compare myself with others, trying to beat them.

Humility is honestly assessing ourselves in light of God’s holiness and our sinfulness –CJ Mahaney

How highly am I assessing myself? Knowing that God is so holy, my view of myself should be nowhere close to that of our Holy God. In addition, this competing against others not only doesn’t encourage others but rather is an attempt to praise myself rather than giving all the glory to God. It is all out of my selfish ambition, when without God I can do nothing; he deserves all the glory.

God is opposed to the proud, but gives grace to the humble -James 4:6

During a series on humility at Grace on Campus,  our pastor, Justin Mckitterick gave a long list of questions for us to see pride in our lives, here are some of them:

Do you plans ways to encourage people?
Are you quick to be critical or do you assume the best?
Do you pray for others?
Are you patient with others?
Do you speak kindly about others?
Do you defer to others?
Are people encouraged when you talk?

The question that spoke really loudly to me was are people encouraged when you talk. How can people be encouraged if I try to make everything a race between us, if I’m trying to beat them? I  become so prideful in wanting to build up myself, and for what reason? Its nothing more than selfishness. Rather, I should be a good testimony for God and show love to others, that my speech may be encouraging to them as we do all things for the glory of God.

In his book Humility, CJ Mahaney talks about ways humility can be applied to our lives. One that really stood out to me was “identifying evidences of grace in others”. Instead of being quick to point out faults we should look for ways God is at work and actively calling attention to the evidences of God’s work in their lives.

Not forsaking our own assembling together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the day drawing near.” Heb 10:25

Therefore encourage one another and build up one another, just as you also are doing 1 Thes 5:11

But encourage one another day after day, as long as it is still called “Today,” so that none of you will be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.” Heb 3:13

One thought on “Humility

Leave a Reply

