What I Believe

Have you ever wondered how we make decisions in life? It may be the conscious decisions such as what I’ll have for lunch, or the ones we subconsciously make like when we place our entire weight on a chair (as opposed to “hovering” over it just in case it were to collapse).

Ultimately it seems as though the things we do result from some sort of belief inside of us that causes us to act in that particular way. I choose to order a particular meal because I believe it will taste good. I subconsciously choose to place my entire weight on a chair because I believe it will support my weight. Every action of ours results in some belief that we hold.

If those of us who say we believe in what God has done for us, in sending His son to die for us on the cross, then what are the “actions” that result from that belief? This is not to be confused with the misconception that we must earn favor from God through good deeds. Rather, have we become too comfortable in this world that will one day pass away and allowed ourselves to fixate not on Christ, but instead on earthly treasures?

Perhaps that is the reason why we consume ourselves at an early age with SAT scores, because we believe that will get us into a good college. Then we slave away for 4+ years of our lives because we believe that is the only way to secure a well-paying job. We then drown ourselves with endless hours at work because we believe that it will bring us a fortune. And then we allow the worries of financial stability to consumer our minds as we look to acquire one thing after another, because we believe that it will bring us security and ultimately happiness. It isn’t wrong to desire happiness, but I can tell you I have only found a temporal happiness in those things, a happiness that comes and goes.

And here we come to the crux of the matter. Do we simply see Jesus as the means to something wonderful, or is He that something wonderful? Because if He is the later then our lives would reflect that, as they did in Paul’s writings to the Philippians:

More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ, and may be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own derived from the Law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness which comes from God on the basis of faith

Phil. 3:8-9

I believe that I was once enslaved to sin, for “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” (Rom. 3:23).

I believe that “the wages of sin is death” (Rom. 6:23), separation from God for eternity, but that “the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Rom. 6:24).

I believe that there is nothing I could ever do to deserve this gift, but rather that it is “by grace you have been saved, through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God” (Eph. 2:8).

I believe that “God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life” (John 3:16).

It is my hope and prayer that what we believe dramatically changes the way we live, how we relate to others, and what we value in life. Let’s encourage one another to have an eternal perspective, remembering that we are but temporary visitors here. And as Resurrection Sunday draws to an end and a new day starts, may we stand in awe of the One who gave it all.

Jesus is so much more than the means to something wonderful, He is that something wonderful.

That is what I believe.

One thought on “What I Believe

Leave a Reply

