Unworthy

Looking back on my four years of high school, my biggest regret is the holier-than-thou attitude I tended to have. I didn’t want to talk to those “unholy” Non-Christians. I didn’t want to talk to anyone at school. I looked down upon any Christian who did anything I didn’t approve of.

I had forgotten the gospel. I was not preaching it to myself (in case you missed Helicon’s post on preaching the gospel to yourself, you can read it here).

God reminded me again and again this year that “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” – Romans 3:23. He’s given me opportunities to talk to people at my school who I saw as “bad” and “beyond God’s grace” even and has reminded me that I am just as unworthy of God’s grace as they are.

I recently had a conversation with two girls from school. Both of them definitely led sinful lives, but just being willing to hang out with them gave me an opportunity to hear about their stories and their struggles and share about my own struggles. These girls became more than a statistic, but two lives that needed God, just as I need God.

Basically growing up in the church and always being a good Asian student, I had forgotten (or never realized) that without Christ, everyone is equal in the eyes of God. Nothing makes me better than the millions of people who don’t know Christ.

While every Christian would insist that we are saved through grace by faith and not by works, it is easy to forget that “while we were still sinners, Christ died for us” – Romans 5:8. I often forget that without Christ, I am a hopeless and unworthy sinner to God, not just a “good,” average person.

God struck down Uzzah for touching the ark of the covenant as he was trying to save it from falling. Our natural reaction to this story is, “How unfair! Why would God kill someone from trying to save the ark?” We forget how dirty and despicable we are compared to God. As George Lim said at winter retreat, Uzzah’s greatest sin was thinking that he was cleaner than the dirt.

We are so unworthy of God and the wonderful gifts and blessings he gives us each day.

One thought on “Unworthy

  1. Wonderful sharing. We are so unworthy and yet so loved! How amazing is that?! ;) Undeserved love. Thanks for the reminder, sis!

Leave a Reply

