Cut Through the Noise

Recently, events going on at my church in San Diego have been testing my Biblical knowledge and understanding of God. I ask myself one question, which leads to another question, which builds onto a different topic with its own set of questions… on and on and on! I am confused out of my mind! Even more frustrating are all the voices around me, with different opinions on doctrine or how to respond to different understandings of doctrine. Each voice scrapes and scuffs me with its intimations of “I’m right!” and “I’m right!”

I don’t know if you have encountered a similar struggle, but I have found that, in circumstances such as these, it is crucial to cut through the noise and listen for God’s voice alone. Prayer and reading God’s word. These are the simple and solid foundations for your faith, for building your relationship with God.

Still, I am encouraged that, although current situations may be unsteady and unsettled, God is unchanging and steadfast. His character, His word, His promises are with us to anchor us through suffering and celebration, through peaks and pitfalls, from generation to generation. And I rejoice all the more knowing that these trials are God ordained and for His glory!

“And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose” (Rom. 8:28 NASB).

1 thought on “Cut Through the Noise

  1. Jane thanks for ur sharing. It is a really important mindset and thought to have, especially in the times when it is so easy to be overwhelmed by the “dross” of life that may so easily obstruct and even hinder one’s attention on the true core foundations found in Christ. It is sometimes in those times that I have found that it is good to simply withdraw and find peace & quiet with God for awhile first. This helps to still one’s heart and then helps one to regain one’s focus on Christ.

    It is like that place in the OT where God commands… be still and know that I am God. I think that re-focus on our purpose has such an amazing and calming effect upon our souls. :) Anyways, thanks for the sharing.

Leave a comment