Path of Uncertainty

[Genesis 12:1-9]

The first thing that God ever told Abraham to do was to “leave.” Amazing. God’s first recorded words to him were not words of affirmation, affection, or assurance. It was a simple command: leave your home. God even goes as far as to not tell Abraham where he is going. In that one command, there is so much uncertainty, so much at risk from a human standpoint. It shakes my being when I think about the fear I would have had if God told me in a clear, loud voice: “go from your country and your kindred and your father’s house.” He calls Abraham, though, to go from his community of comfort (his family and friends even though his father was dead at the time) at an old age with a barren wife, which means no descendants or future generations after him, to just go and fend for themselves out in the unknown world.

And verse four says, “so Abram went.” Just pause to think about that for a moment. A seventy-five year old man, probably senile, if not, some things ought to have been dysfunctional, taking some servants, his wife, and his dead brother’s son and leaving with nothing but a promise. What faith that must have taken. It’s scary to think about. Abraham must have had many things on his plate at that time, but the bible says he went. He just took his things, couple servants and left.

The only reason he was able to do this was as I mention briefly above: God’s promises. God gives Abraham several amazing promises starting in verse two. God first assures Abraham that through Abraham’s offspring, a great nation will come about and whoever blesses Abraham will be blessed and whoever curses will be cursed, and all of Abraham’s family will be blessed. Even with a barren wife advanced in years, no children, no certain future, with these promises, Abraham was able to weigh the consequences and outcomes of either staying or leaving and to conclude that leaving would be best. By faith, Abraham could look through the human circumstances and could overcome the worldly tendency to choose security and certainty.

However, the point of this post is not to talk about faith, even though this post heavily depends on and is only true when faith is present. The point of this post is to show that it is only through times of uncertainty will I be able to hear and understand and be affected by what God has to say to me. Just like how Abraham could not take hold any of God’s extravagant promises unless he obeyed God and embarked on his journey of uncertainty, we cannot either. So I challenge you, what are some things that God may want you to leave behind and what has God promises you personally through your experiences with Him? Think about it, because I was challenged not long ago and I came up with nothing. I have no idea what God has promised me in my life personally, because I have been walking on paths of certainty, and when the storms of life thrust me on the path of uncertainty, I cower. I pretend God is not there and is not actively seeking me, but well all know in our great Bible knowledge that He is. Isn’t that the reality of things? Who among us can say that our faith is strengthened the most in times of uncertainty, true uncertainty– not the uncertainty of some math test or grades of some sort, nor am I talking about uncertainty of which college will accept me, but I am talking about uncertainty at the root of the word as in when both your parents lose their job, or when you just got stranded in the middle of no where by yourself after getting robbed of your money, when you feel completely helpless, because I am sure Abraham had those certain points of uncertainty when God called him to leave. But, his faith was strengthened. He knew as he weighed his choices that if he stayed, God could not carry out His work.

need to walk the path of uncertainty to understand and be influenced by God’s word and power, and in order so that God’s promises might be fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

