I’m Not a Pirate

A few nights ago I read through Proverbs 2, which is about the moral benefits of wisdom. The first five verses read,

“1 My son, if you accept my words
and store up my commands within you,
2 turning your ear to wisdom
and applying your heart to understanding—

3 indeed, if you call out for insight
and cry aloud for understanding,
4 and if you look for it as for silver
and search for it as for hidden treasure,
5then you will understand the fear of the LORD
and find the knowledge of God.”

What stuck out to me was verse 4. How awesome would it be to seek after wisdom and understanding with the eagerness and prospect of searching for silver and hidden treasure? Of course, I’m not a pirate; my silver is basketball and my hidden treasure is probably something else related to basketball. Reading this passage brought me to change the way I approach the Word. Quite often, I cram my devotions late at night. My eyes are on the words, but my heart is not where it should be. I should pursue God’s word with the same desire that drives me to do my best in bball.

Leave a Reply

