If you’ve got nothing good to say…

TemporaryVisitors: Suggested Reading

I was once told that if you have nothing good to say, don’t say anything at all. It’s my turn to write this week, and I’ve got nothing. Helicon and I have been working on a pair of blog posts that we plan to release back to back, but those still need some careful review before they’re ready to be shared.

Jesus, while addressing the Pharisees in Matthew 12:36 said, “But I tell you that every careless word that people speak, they shall give an accounting for it in the day of judgment.” Let’s take that as a reminder to think before we speak (in front of others) or write (on blogs/Facebook/Twitter/etc). So rather than writing for the sake of posting something, I thought I’d share a few posts from other blogs that I have marked as “Read it Later“.

First a few side-comments on how I get the content that I read on daily basis. My blog-browsing/aggregating tools of choice are:

GoogleReaderGoogleReader (http://reader.google.com)- this is where I subscribe to the different blogs that I follow. Simply log in to GoogleReader, click the”SUBSCRIBE” button, and then enter the URL for the RSS feed, which should be available on just every blog nowadays. You’ve now built your library of stuff which will be updated in realtime as new content is made available from the blogs you’ve chosen to subscribe to. I choose to do this step on my laptop since it’s simpler and quicker.

FlipboardFilpboard (http://www.flipboard.com) – this is by far the #1 app that I use on my iPad/iPhone on a daily basis. Flipboard does an amazing job at displaying your library of stuff in a clean way that is both aesthetically pleasing and easy to navigate (it feels like a magazine, you’ve got to try it out). After creating an account on Flipboard, you can add different sources that will feed your Flipboard in realtime. Aside from the different social networking feeds and other pre-built topic-based feeds you can add as a source, you can also choose GoogleReader. Once you do that, you’ve now got your library stuff in a browsable format for easy reading.

InstapaperInstapaper (http://www.instapaper.com) – this step is optional, but for those who go through a lot of content and don’t always have the time to read everything in one sitting, Instapaper comes to the rescue. Granted you can “star” things while navigating through Flipboard, Instapaper offers the added benefit of stripping out all the “extra stuff”. This leaves you with only the text of the article that is neatly organized in the Instapaper app. To get this set up, go into the settings of Flipboard and add your Instapaper account as the tool you want to use for “Read it Later”. You’re now ready to rock and roll.

My daily routine includes flipping through the latest blog posts on Flipboard, reading a few things as I have time, and then choosing “Read it Later” for those I want to read later, or those I don’t want to forget. Over time, I ended up with a library of things I’ve found to be encouraging and thought provoking, all neatly organized and tagged for future searching. Each of these tools also has a lot of different sharing/syncing options, but what I’ve described should hopefully get your feet wet enough to explore further on your own.

It’s important to remember that these are all secondary to the Bible. We are to be wise and discerning in what we read and what we do with what we read. Just because so-and-so said it on their blog doesn’t mean that it this becomes the foundation for our understanding of the Bible. The author of Hebrews reminds us that it is the Word of God that “is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” Lastly, think twice before you hit the “Share” or “Like” button. In a world that is more connected than ever, what we like and share can often send a message that we never intended.

With that in mind, here are  few posts that I’ve moved into the “save for later” category. Hopefully there’s a little something in there for everyone. Enjoy.

These first two have been extremely convicting in how I approach and study the Word.

Many of my friends are starting families. This one goes out to all the moms out there.

It is hard to believe I am approaching my 6th year at the company I’m currently working at. For those of us in the working world, or those about to join the working world, I’ve found these to be helpful. If 12 ways to glorify God at work is too much for you, don’t worry there’s another post that takes a stab at looking at it in 5 ways.

I came to know Christ as my savior in my high school years, yet my grasp of the foundational elements of my faith were weak at best. Having served in youth ministry over the recent years, these posts sum up how we should raise and teach the next generation.

The college years were formative in many ways for me. This is something I wish I had read before going to college. It’s worth a read whether are going to college soon, already have started college, or recently graduated from college.

And…for the Apple fan-boy in all of us, a thought provoking article on the image of God.

2 thoughts on “If you’ve got nothing good to say…

  1. Great share, Bryan. I was actually googling the phrase, “Who said: if you have nothing to good to say, don’t say anything at all?” and your post came up. So I read it. I might even reference it in my own post. One thing I’m going to do for sure – put your post in my “read it later” file.

Leave a Reply

